Music Video Premiere: Have Nots – Proud

The Have Nots  have released their music video on their website The song is the title track from their new album, Proud . The Have Nots are a ska/punk band from Boston, Mass. and the bands members consist of Matt Pruitt (vocals/guitar), Jon Cauztik (vocals/guitar), Jameson Hollis (bass), and Steve Patton (drums).

From the Have Nots myspace page, they had this to say about their new album Proud. “Fueled by thought provoking lyrics and the clean/gruff vocal interplay of Matt Pruitt and Jon Cauztik, Proud reflects on topics such as love (“The Years”), loss (“Anywhere But Here”), growing up without selling out (“Proud”), getting old without growing up (“All Or None”), personal accountability for the economic recession (“Freedom of Recession”), and neglect of the US soldiers (“The Brink”). “Jon wrote the song ‘Proud’ about his dad who passed away fifteen years ago,” reveals Patton. “It’s about growing up, and being who you want to be, and the roads you take to get you where you are. When we were trying to decide on a name for the record we tossed around a couple of different ideas, but ultimately decided that, since we were proud of this record, and of the work that we’ve done as a band to get us where we are today, Proud would be a fitting title.”

“Recorded in Nashville, TN with producer Matt Drastic (Blacklist Royals, The Dopamines), and mixed by Stephen Egerton (Descendents/ALL), Have Nots recorded Proud at Drastic Sound in the late summer of 2010. The band spent the year touring with Dropkick Murphys (also playing one of their wild St. Patty’s Day hometown shows), Street Dogs, and Swingin’ Utters, to name a few, as well as a set at Chicago’s Riot Fest and their first European tour. Proud is the band’s follow up to their well-received debut, Serf City USA, which is available on vinyl and as a FREE download from Paper + Plastick.”

Tracklist from Proud:

01. Proud
02. The Brink
03. Louisville Slugger
04. Secret Machines
05. Freedom of Recession
06. Anywhere But Here
07. Dead Man
08. Where In The World
09. Farewell Show
10. Jackson Dawn
11. Some of Mine
12. All or None
13. The Years

So check out Have NotsProud

Voice Your Mind

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s